Please consider registering

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register sp_MemberList Members

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS student-icon
What should I do? $420k loan debt
December 17, 2019
1:13 pm
Loannightmares
Guests

My student loan debt is $420,000, all federal loans. Interest rate is 6.5%. My degree is in medicine, and I’m currently a resident making $56k per year. In 1.5 years I’ll graduate residency and earn about $260-325k per year, gross income. Married, filing jointly; husband just immigrated to the US and is job hunting now; at most I’d expect him to make $30-50k/year for the foreseeable future, but right now his income is 0.
I’ve been on the PAYE plan since starting residency 2.5 years ago. Monthly payment is a little under $200 per month, somehow, which seems low to me… it’s about all I can afford right now though. Interest is accruing rapidly of course, and by the time I graduate residency in 1.5 years the loan total will be ~$462k.
My questions are…
1) Should I have gone for REPAYE from the beginning, for the interest subsidy? Watching the interest accruing is killing me!
2) I’ve read that once I start making the bigger salary, the financial hardship disqualification will lead my interest to capitalize under PAYE. What does this mean, and how can I find out how much my loan amount will balloon to once that happens?
3) Can I save myself any money by switching to REPAYE now instead of in 1.5 years and taking the plan-switch capitalization hit now rather than later?
I’m so confused, and I’m upset with myself for putting myself in this position and being so financially illiterate and naive.