Please consider registering

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register sp_MemberList Members

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS student-icon
Already paid back 386% of loan amount and they still say I owe $21,000???
June 19, 2020
4:04 am
Members
Forum Posts: 1
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

(I don’t give permission for my name to be posted on your site and/or with this question. An initial is fine though.)
I graduated college in 1990 with a teaching degree and roughly $15,000 in student loan debt.
 In my first few years of teaching it was a struggle to make ends meet so I did a lot of years forbearances. (I barely made $15,000 in  my first years of teaching.)
I also consolidated my student loans with Nelnet back in 1992.
I have never defaulted on any school loans. Along the way I also received about $15,000 in teacher forgiveness money.

Fast-forward to 2020…..I am currently 53 years old. I have paid Nelnet $58,511.72 total for a $15,000 student loan and they say I still owe them $20,962.06!!
This is egregious but Nelnet says because of the terms of the promissory note they cannot forgive the remaining amount owed.
I also wonder if they have kept accurate records for this loan. I am thinking of asking for an audit.
But on the other hand I did not submit the yearly paperwork for IBR continuance. If I do my payments may go up.

At this point should I (1) Just continue paying as is. I am on an IBR and I pay $275 per month.   Also, if I pay extra should I NOT click the button that says:”Do not advance due date”.  I am not clear on the advantages or disadvantages of  clicking that or not clicking.
or
(2) Should I try to get a credit union loan at a lower interest rate and pay off Nelnet ? (current interest rate is 9%)
or